Washington County Historical Society
Dewey Hotel Museum

The Grand Ole Lady Of The Prarie

News and Events

Welcome to WCHS

Incorporated in 1964 the purpose of the Washington County Historical Society is to bring together those people especially interested in the history of Washington County, OK.  The major function is to discover and collect local area historical materials illustrative of life, conditions, events and activities of the past and present.

The WCHS provides for the preservation of such historical items and holds them open for view and study.

Dewey Hotel Museum

  
Vist the beautifully restored, 19th-century Dewey Hotel Museum and experience life at the turn of the Century.
View historical items from Washington County, Oklahoma

Museum Hours: April - November
10 am - 4 pm
Tuesday - Saturday

Admission
Adults  $5.00
Children 12 & under Free with paying Adult
Students 13 & over, Military, and Seniors $4.00

Donations always welcomed. 

Wheelchair accessible to first floor only
3 floors to tour, staircase access only.

Reconstructed Territorial Jail 
used by Tom Mix is on site.
  
Jacob H. Bartles, pioneer, rancher, business and civic leader of Washington County, OK, started construction of the Dewey Hotel in the early spring of 1899.  It was completed about May 1, 1900.
The architecture is Victorian of the late 19th century period.  The hotel is one of the oldest buildings in Washington County and was directly connected with most of the early economic and social history of Dewey.

It was the home and hotel to Jacob Bartles and Nannie Journeycake Bartles.  It began as a family-style hotel with meals, served in the large dining room.  This dining room became a fashionable place for Washington County residents to have their Sunday lunch. 

The Hotel also served as the center for the Dewey Roundup Rodeo for 40+ years, attracting nearly 40,000 people.  Cowboys, Oilmen and Outlaws were all known to frequent the hotel over the years.  

The Dewey Hotel was donated to the Washington County Historical Society by Mr. & Mrs. O.A. Patridge in March 1967.  Two adjacent lots for use in the restoration project were contributed by Mr. & Mrs. Ernie Anderson.  Numerous other contributors have since given support to the cause of preserving this significant historical landmark.  


The Dewey Hotel Museum is a three story building comprised of 31 rooms.
On the first floor you will experience The Lobby, Parlor, Jacob Bartles Roundup Office, Dining Room, and Kitchen.

The second floor has the Seamstress Room, Toy Room, The Bartles Suite, The Kane Room, The O.A. Partridge Room, hotel bedrooms and two rooms furnished by the Indian Women's clubs in which authentic dress of the Indians of this area are shown.

​The third floor is more reminiscent of the early day Settlers and Cowboys.  The rooms on this floor have the board and batten walls and ceilings.  The turret holds the infamous poker room where the lights could be seen late into the night.  Many fortunes were won and lost here.